Tour de France 2022: Dylan Groenewegen snatches stage three win from leader Wout van Aert

1 month ago 17

Breaking news

Dylan Groenewegen snatched victory in a thrilling photo finish to stage three of this year's Tour de France.

Wout van Aert took the lead as he sprinted for the line in Sonderborg but Dutch rider Groenewegen, 29, made a late surge to edge his sixth Tour win.

That capped a flat 182km route from Vejle and it was the third day running that Belgian Van Aert, 27, had to settle for second place.

But he retains the overall lead after the opening stages in Denmark.

Tour de France: Stage three - as it happenedTour de France: Quick-Step concerns for riders after staff Covid positives

Van Aert stretched his lead over Yves Lampaert to seven seconds while two-time defending champion Tadej Pogacar is third, 14 seconds off Van Aert.

Groenewegen's victory also prevented Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl becoming the first team to win the first three stages of a Tour, after Lampaert won stage one and Fabio Jakobsen edged stage two on Saturday.

Dutch rider Jakobsen, making his Tour debut, was involved in the charge for the line but ultimately crossed in fifth on Sunday.

The Tour now transfers to France and resumes with a hilly 171.5km route from Dunkerque to Calais on Tuesday.

More to follow.

Stage three results

1. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned/BikeExchange-Jayco) 4hrs 11mins 33secs

2. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma) Same time

3. Jasper Philipsen (Bel/Alpecin-Deceuninck)

4. Peter Sagan (Svk/TotalEnergies)

5. Fabio Jakobsen (Ned/Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl)

6. Christophe Laporte (Fra/Jumbo-Visma)

7. Alberto Dainese (Ita/DSM)

8. Hugo Hofstetter (Fra/Arkea Samsic)

9. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto-Soudal)

10. Danny van Poppel (Ned/Bora-Hansgrohe)

Read Entire Article