Herring and Burns return for Ulster against Leinster

4 months ago 129
Rob HerringHerring returns after missing the Connacht game with an ankle injury
Venue: RDS, Dublin Date: Monday, 1 January Kick-off: 17:15 GMT
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio Ulster, BBC Sounds and the BBC Sport website and app, plus live text commentary, report, highlights and reaction on the BBC Sport website

Hooker Rob Herring and fly-half Billy Burns have returned to start for Ulster in their United Rugby Championship game against Leinster on Monday at the RDS.

Herring sustained an ankle injury in the Champions Cup win over Racing 92 and missed the URC win over Connacht.

Burns also missed the 20-19 victory victory against Connacht with a bicep injury.

They are two of five alterations made by Dan McFarland.

In an all-changed front row, Herring replaces Tom Stewart, whilst South African World Cup winner Steven Kitshoff also returns in place of Andy Warwick.

Tom O'Toole comes in for Marty Moore, whilst Jake Flannery makes way for Burns at fly-half.

The second and back row remain unchanged from the Connacht win, which was Ulster's second consecutive victory.

Luke Marshall is recalled at outside centre in place of James Hume, featuring for the first time since the defeat against Glasgow Warriors in November.

Ulster suffered a 38-29 loss in their last visit to the RDS, despite having built up a 19-point lead over their Irish rivals.

Much-changed Leinster side

Jamison Gibson-ParkGibson-Park's return is one of a raft of changes made by Leinster

Leinster, who are the current URC leaders, recorded a 9-3 win over Munster in a bruising derby contest at Thomond Park in their last game.

Leo Cullen has made a number of changes from that game, with only Rob Russell retaining his place.

He is joined in the back row by Jimmy O'Brien and Tommy O'Brien, who makes his first start since returning from injury which has ruled him out of action for a month.

Ireland international Robbie Henshaw is joined at centre by Liam Turner, whilst Jamison Gibson-Park starts after missing the Munster game through injury.

Sam Prendergast starts his first Interpro game at fly-half, with Cian Healy, Dan Sheehan and Thomas Clarkson returning for a new look front row.

Jason Jenkins and captain James Ryan are selected at second row as Ryan Baird and Will Connors, who featured off the bench in Limerick, also coming into the side along with Caelan Doris.

Ulster: Addison, Baloucoune, Marshall, McCloskey, Stockdale, Burns, Cooney, Kitshoff, Herring, O'Toole, Treadwell, Henderson, Rea, Reffell, Timoney.

Replacements: Stewart, Warwick, Wilson, O'Connor, Ewers, Doak, Lowry, Postlethwaite.

Leinster: J O'Brien, T O'Brien, Turner, Henshaw, Russell, Prendergast, Gibson-Park, Healy, Sheehan, Clarkson, Jenkins, Ryan, Baird, Connors, Caelan Doris.

Replacements: Barron, Boyle, Ala'alatoa, McCarthy, Conan, McGrath, Byrne, van der Flier.

Read Entire Article